Given the uncertainty surrounding the “how safe is my data” debate you may wish to close your social network account until there are clearer answers.
This may not be quite as straightforward it may seem
Facebook’s Account Settings help appears to confirm that they retain your data even after you deactivate your account
In the “How do I deactivate my account?” section we are informed:
“You want to leave Facebook? ………Deactivation will completely remove your profile and all associated content on your account from Facebook………” it then goes on to say “If you reactivate your account, your profile will be restored in its entirety (friends, photos, interests, etc.).
Add to this the recent article on Valleywag entitled “Facebook employees know-what profiles you look at” and the privacy/online reputaion issue is certainly going to make some people very nervous.